Greenock is a historic industrial town by the Firth of Clyde, 25 miles west of Glasgow.
Greenock grew from a fishing community to become the site of the first dock on the Clyde in 1711. Much of the west end of Greenock retains its impressive Victorian buildings, not least the 245-foot Victoria Tower which remains incomplete. Attractions include McLean Museum and Art Gallery and the Old West Kirk, which dates from 1591 and features stained glass by artists such as Dante Gabriel Rossetti. The town is home to the world’s first Burns Club, with many of the founding members having known Robert Burns himself. Burns’ love Mary Campbell (Highland Mary) died in the town and is buried in Greenock Cemetery.
The Greenock Cut is an aqueduct which is one of the top 50 walks in Scotland, offering panoramic views of the Clyde. The walk has a visitor centre which includes an interactive exhibition and coffee shop. Other viewpoints over the Clyde can be found at the town’s Esplanade, where visitors can overlook Gourock and the Tail of the Bank, and at Lyle Hill where a beacon sits which celebrates the Silver Jubilee of Queen Elizabeth and is still lit on special occasions. A distinctive anchor shaped war memorial to the Free French forces who fought in World War II stands on the western brow, in homage to the Maillé Brézé which exploded off Greenock’s coast and the other Free French vessels which sailed from the town.
Greenock has a number of shopping facilities, including the Oak Mall Shopping Centre, and many restaurants, cafes and pubs to eat in. The town has a variety of sporting facilities. Greenock boasts nine railway stations, which provide services to Glasgow, Gourock, Wemyss Bay and other surrounding stops. There is a number of local bus routes as well as services to further destinations such as Glasgow, Largs and Dunoon. Ferries run from Victoria Harbour along the Firth of Clyde to Dunoon and other destinations.